Towards a better tinyhouse

Inventing to freedom?

The tinyhouse wiki is up and running!

leave a comment »

After looking and searching and testing various wiki hosting sites, I settled on Wikia, because they seem to be the only ones with software that provides adequate function, and let you use an appropriate copyleft license. Surprise, surprise, it is based on the same software wikipedia uses, MediaWiki.

The runner-up was Wikispaces, but I abandoned them after I found that unregistered users cannot add new pages to the wiki, which I assume would slow growth.

MediaWiki is open source, and I think free, so I don’t know why other providers don’t use it, but whatever.

I have not added any articles to the wiki yet, but I try to add some when I get time. See some suggested ideas in one of the posts below, if you are looking for some inspiration.

If you would like to become an Admin, or a Beaurocrat, we need you, or we will, anyway, so do sign up for a wikia account, and email me, Gregor folouk at hotmail . You are not obligated to do anything at all. It just gives you various rights to revert pages and stuff. More info here : http://tinyhouses.wikia.com/wiki/Help:User_access_levels

Anyway, so here it is

The Tiny House Wiki

(tinyhouses.wikia.com also works)

I can change the name and URL of the wiki, too, all that stuff, if someone has a better idea for how it ought to be. I would be happy to pass the Benevolent Dictator For Life role (that’s the official term), to someone else, who has a good reputation. Basically the SuperAdmin role.

Oh, and of course, all the content is under a liberal copyleft license, in this case the Creative Commons CC-BY-SA license, more info here.

The remains of testing the runner up is It’s here : http://tinyhousewiki.wikispaces.com/ if you want a look at it.

Written by gregor

October 9, 2010 at 06:01

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

