Towards a better tinyhouse

Inventing to freedom?

VirtualTinyhouseConference #1 Scheduled for 8:00 PM ET Wednesday, Oct 27

with 7 comments

Be here! I scheduled a blog post to appear with a few links, like the ones below:

VirtTinyhouseCon1 Room 1
VirtTinyhouseCon1 Room2: The Zoning Problem

Click on those links to test your webcam and stuff.

I figure, it’s been about a week and a half now since I posted those notes on chat platforms, and the dismal state of the art. (Mr. cheerful, I am) And no one else has started the conference, so I figure something is better than nothing.

TinyChat actually seems to be the best option, I think, for the first time, to gauge interest. I wouldn’t mind paying $100 bucks or something, actually, to get something better for a month, but that doesn’t seem to be available anywhere, or if it is there is no free trial for it, because I basically tested everything that I could that had a trial or demo, and the video quality etc. is no better than the free tinychat. There is camfrog and those ones that want the ~$300 license fees, but who’s to say they are much, if any, better overall. TinyChat seems to feature good audio quality, and its simple, no signup, no muss, no fuss. I mean, it works better than a teleconference, and that is useable.

I chose the time 8:00 pm ET because that seems to be in the zone when the largest fraction of America starts watching TV, and Wednesday because it is a week from now, so people have sometime to hear about it. No force on earth can unglue someone from the tube once they start watching, but who in their right mind would rather watch TV when they could be chatting with other witty, hip, open minded, and incredibly attractive tinyhouse enthusiasts? You can watch that TV show anytime. This is a grassroots virtual conference about Tinyhouses!

WordPress doesn’t tell me how many unique hits this blog gets a week, but it got 117 last week (lol, not much as blogs go, but I don’t aim to please) and seems to get 17 a day regularly. So maybe roughly 17 readers. Hey, 3 is a party. Tell other tinyhouse enthusiasts if you get the chance, and I will put an invitation up on the tinyhouseforum.

We’ll see, anyway, we’ll see.

*Edit: Note about time zones: This doesn’t change anything, but it is the Eastern Time zone, which is presently on that stupid daylight saving thing until the first Sunday in November, so that means the con is at 8:00 pm in Ottawa, UTC-04, really I should not refer to it as EST, sorry, but that is one of the terms used for it*

Written by gregor

October 19, 2010 at 21:38

Posted in Uncategorized

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Why not post an invite at: http://www.tinyhousedesign.com/, http://www.tinyhousedesign.com/ & http://www.thetinylife.com/

    You write so may interesting things & deserve more readers!

    ET

    October 21, 2010 at 02:32

  2. Well, Kent Of THB said he would post about it on the blog, and I could let Alex an Michael know by email, and if they want to post whatever, seems kind of inconsiderate to pot in the comment section.

    But really, while it would be awesome if 50 people showed up at one of the conferences, if even 5 show up to this one, that’s enough, because you have to remember that while I have tested this in several ways (me and a bunch of friends) it is still sort of the beta test run, so it would really suck if 50 people showed up and, I dunno, it turns out tinychat is, like “well, we’re always closed on the 27nth at 8 pm for maintenance, don’t you know! Everyone knows that!”
    I don’t think anything will muck up, but there’s the unknown unknown, which is what testing is for.

    gregor

    October 21, 2010 at 07:07

    • But if lots of people show up at this one, that’s good, too, I mean.

      gregor

      October 21, 2010 at 07:10

  3. I wonder if this well be moderated? – interesting stuff on the houses – sent your link to some architect friends

    captnmike

    October 21, 2010 at 17:05

  4. Well, it’s not moderated in the sense of a discussion panel or something, but if trolls show up and start destroying the conversation, I can kick them off (if all goes as planned, finger crossed) Otherwise I figure it’s like a themed cocktail party – just add people and they will talk about whatever they want. Maybe conference isn’t the most accurate term, convention or unconference, maybe.

    Of course I would not do that unless the problem was serious – there’s nothing more annoying than a meddlesome moderator.

    gregortheinventor

    October 21, 2010 at 19:00

  5. I have to do child care as I am helping two moms celebrate their birthdays without the 5 children. Where exactly are you holding the conference. If it is by phone or computer I will be able to attend but if it is a meetup of sorts I will only be able to attend the next one you have. Thank you for taking the risk and time of organizing this. I really appreciate it.

    Fay Champoux

    October 27, 2010 at 17:37

  6. […] This is a great way to get to know others with similar interest and share issues you are dealing with. To get all the information please visit Gregor’s blog. […]


Leave a Reply

