Towards a better tinyhouse

Inventing to freedom?

VirtualTinyhouseCon summary, and plans for next time.

with 6 comments

Well first of all, where were you guys and gals??

However, more importantly, I have a question for anyone who reads this post and knew about the con:

If you didn’t come, why not?

If you have even the slightest desire to see the VirtualTinyhouseCon happen, please answer. It might be a trivial reason, like you forgot or whatever, that’s still info I need and can use. I don’t at all mean to come across as mopey, just that this is the only way I can get this information.

Now, it only takes a few seconds to answer this question, and you are welcome to do so anonymously if you prefer. Because I can’t read your mind, and I’m not going to try. If my blog stats say there are 12 people who read this post, there should be 12 comments below. Ball’s in your court, you can hit it back, or drop it. (Redemption challenge: if you don’t answer, say why you prefer not to. 🙂

To post completely anonymously, you can use a proxy like http://www.proxybrowse.biz/ . the comment will be transferred to the spam bin and you won’t see it appear, but I will check the spam bin manually to see the comments.

I promise to read all your comments and integrate any suggestions and try to correct any deficiencies revealed by them, for the next Con.

The announcement post got about 300 views, 85 people clicked the test links, and 4 people showed up. Anla’s wifi was on the blink, so it was really just the 3 of us.

Nevertheless, we went on for almost an hour about our stories, the zoning issue, some about toilet and water stuff, the future of the VirtualTinyhouseCon, and more.

So I want to incorporate some improvements and try holding it again.

None of us used the video or audio features, though it seems clear there are some deficiencies with text only, as there are typos, the typing delay, and it’s clear there was some talking at cross-purposes that happened, etc. But, although 3 is not a statistically significant sample, I think it might as well be using Tinychat again until the A/V features are used, because it certainly has basic A/V capabilities if they are desired. Personally I didn’t use the audio because my background was pretty noisy, and my microphone is kind of far from my mouth and you can’t hear yourself, so I was concerned it would just transmit a bunch of annoying noise when I pushed the Push To Talk button. And my webcam has a (hardware, I think) problem right now where it’s all blurry.

Anyway, it has so far been suggested that I keep minutes, and maybe have a (sub-) theme, like “supplies: scavenge or buy?”, and set an end time.

Written by gregor

October 30, 2010 at 16:25

Posted in Uncategorized

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. nvbvmjbv testing anonymity

    jhvhk

    October 30, 2010 at 17:53

  2. Previous commitment that evening – teaching a workshop.

    EJ

    October 31, 2010 at 12:35

  3. I was planning on showing up, but my spouse had made other arrangements for us that night that I did not know about (he tends to be very spur-of-the-moment when it comes to making plans). I distinctly remember looking at the clock and thinking that I was missing out.

    Abi

    November 1, 2010 at 14:32

  4. I intended to join in and had added the event to my calendar. Unfortunately, I suffered from the beginning of viral infection and just couldn’t force myself to do it. I was worn out and hit the sack early. I would really love to be involved but I just messed up.

    Bill Zaspel

    November 2, 2010 at 10:35

  5. I just found your website – I missed the posting on the Tiny House Blog. Maybe better advertising of your blog and the conference?

    LC

    November 2, 2010 at 16:59

  6. Time was bad, so I voted in the poll…

    Epu

    November 5, 2010 at 06:24


Leave a Reply

