Towards a better tinyhouse

Inventing to freedom?

VirtualTinyHouseCon #2 is scheduled for Sat. Nov. 13, 8 to 9 PM Eastern Time Zone

with 8 comments

Edit 2010/11/11: If you haven’t yet done so, don’t forget toPlease please please, with a cherry and a so much flavor enhancer you can’t even believe it on top vote on your favorite time slot using the poll to the right, could you, please, please, please please?

Be here! Meet new people! Get some great blogging material! Learn tons of interesting and useful stuff! Share your story!

Simply come to this blog at the appointed time, and there will a new blog post with a few links like the ones below, which you can click to enter the various rooms:

VirtualTinyHouseCon: Room A
VirtualTinyHouseCon: Room B

No signup or install is required. You can join by text, audio, video, or any combination thereof.

We have a a theme! Construction Materials: New or Recycled?

Don’t miss out! It will be for only an hour each week, every Saturday 8-9 pm Eastern Time starting now, until there is a reason to change the timing. What a chance to meet other great people interested in Tiny Houses from all over the country – no – world! Remember, anyone in the world could be there.

Think of all the awesome people in the Tiny House community you could meet – or miss the chance to meet if you don’t come! I’ll be contacting everyone I can to advertise this one, including every blogger.

Bloggers, builders, designers, dwellers, thinkers and dreamers, all in one tiny place at one tiny time. And you don’t even have to get out of your armchair to be there too!

If you wish to use them, you can test your audio and webcam by opening the same chat room in 2 different browser tabs using different user names, but beware of audio feedback. Also, you can join as many rooms as you want simultaneously just open them in other browser windows.

Written by gregor

November 6, 2010 at 22:19

Posted in Uncategorized

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You can count me in. I plan on doing everything I can to be there, on time, and in color!

    Bill Zaspel

    November 8, 2010 at 09:12

    • See you, then 🙂 , you make it sound like you have to move mountains to free up an hour on saturday evening 🙂

      gregortheinventor

      November 8, 2010 at 12:22

  2. Was there for the first 20 minutes, but all alone! So I pasted my comments below:

    [2:13] tinyone: So, if there is no one else, I will just add my comments and head to bed!
    [2:15] tinyone: I would like to have as much recycled material as possible, but a contractor advised me
    [2:16] tinyone: not to use recycled wood for the frame since it would not be straight or strong enough
    [2:16] tinyone: But I am thinking about using it for the siding
    [2:17] tinyone: Also, the recycled blue jean insulation sounds interesting, but not as high an R-value
    [2:18] tinyone: so I am thinking it makes more sense to go with the most insulating material since
    [2:18] tinyone: the walls can’t really be made much wider

    tinyone

    November 13, 2010 at 20:23

    • Really??

      !##@$%!
      *bites hat*
      !$@#%!
      Fing B:eeping!
      *Takes hat off, jumps on it*

      Well I was definitely there There must have been something totally screwed up with tinychat. I wonder how many people came, and were cut off by tinychat’s malfunction.

      There was thing that popped up at 8:13 that said a guest had joined the room in room 1, but I assumed that was some sort sprurious thing from me opening the same chatroom more than once or something.

      F!
      You do everything right, and what happens, the software Fs everything up royally. F^(&^.

      Well in any case looks like only one person is better thatn nothing, so I’ll keep looking into a FUNCTIONAL platform to use for next time. Something that ACTUALLY WORKS. I mean I can understand dropped connections, or low qualtiy video or something. but for cripes crap, it has to actually work to some degree. **@$%#@

      gregortheinventor

      November 13, 2010 at 20:44

  3. Sorry to be the bearer of bad news. I clicked on your link and signed in at exactly 8pm EST, then started typing around 8:13pm to keep awake (I’m in Europe, and it was past 2am here). There was another person named fred who entered the chat just as I was about to give up, but exited after a minute without saying anything.

    Anyhow, thanks for your efforts and better luck next time!

    tinyone

    November 14, 2010 at 08:34

  4. btw, perhaps the problem may be that I clicked on the links in this blog post, not the new one?

    tinyone

    November 14, 2010 at 16:43

    • Wha? What? Yes, that would be the problem. I thought I was totally clear about the way it was supposed to work. I guess I should have said more about that. Arg. What can you do.

      It has to be the new links, otherwise someone could get control of moderator status and vandadize things. Doing it like this ensures that only I can have moderator status.

      I’ll try to be more clear about how it all works next time, however based on your comment, I decided to use Vsee next time, and I think I’ll continue with that now.

      gregortheinventor

      November 14, 2010 at 16:51

  5. In retrospect it makes sense… but yeah, best not to post example links so as not to confuse the not-so-bright folks such as myself 🙂

    tinyone

    November 15, 2010 at 16:01


Leave a Reply

