Towards a better tinyhouse

Inventing to freedom?

VirtualTinyHouseCon #4 summary

with 3 comments

No one showed up. Oh well.

I don’t think people realize the potential here. The software, in my experience is quite amazing. It’s videoconferencing. You can talk to other people quite easily. You should at least try it out with your friends and family.

Think about what exactly this is here, a meeting can be held that is not just a meetup of people in your area, but ANYONE IN THE WORLD with an internet connection.

If you have nothing interesting to talk about, sorry, but the problem lies squarely with you. And yes it’s a problem, a failure to converge. Humans need to converge, to organize, in order to accomplish things, true fact.

It reminds me of a TEDTalk by Melinda Gates I saw a while ago, about implementing various medical interventions in developing countries – people need them and it’s a good thing, and the people know that perfectly well. But that is not enough. You still have to make them want it if they are going to take it, even for free.

I could maybe register a domain name, get some flashy stuff going on there, maybe spend too much money on some inferior software so it looks more “professional”. Maybe make a bunch of cons specific to various localities. Maybe that wouldn’t be enough, and I would have to keep trying more and more things.

Well, frankly I don’t have the time or money to do that, I’m afraid. I’ll continue hosting the con for a while longer, but maybe after 7 or 8 I’ll give up. I’ve done my part. If people don’t want it, that is your responsibility, I just can’t afford right now to do that much that it takes to make people want it.

Written by gregor

November 29, 2010 at 06:21

Posted in Uncategorized

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Not enough people know about it yet. Your blog is about 5 months old still, it will usually take you longer than that to reach more people.

    I agree that humans need to work with each other and I think they are. Lots of other blogs on topics like ours get a lot of traffic and comments. But they’ve been doing it for years.

    I’d feel more comfortable if Bill and Melinda Gates would give their billions to other charities and stick with software and computers. I don’t think they need to be so involved in healthcare.

    Alex

    November 30, 2010 at 13:41

  2. Alex has a point, it may take time… or it may not be ment to be. But there’s been a rash of publicity this week, so maybe it’ll be different. Personally, I can make in most afternoons on the weekend, but not the evenings. Thanks for your efforts!

    Epu

    December 1, 2010 at 13:06

    • The con related posts have been read more than 600 times, and probably a thousand. I don’t think publicity is the problem at this point.

      gregortheinventor

      December 2, 2010 at 03:06


Leave a Reply

