Towards a better tinyhouse

Inventing to freedom?

Sort of signing off. Or maybe drifting off.

with 6 comments

Well, looks like no progress is going to happen on the political front in tinyhouses any time soon. I’m still interested in tinyhouses because ultimately I want to use one. It’s altogether possible I may use the concept in the future. In fact I see little else in terms of practical long term housing options, at least until I am making better money. And even then I would probably prefer a tinyhouse to save said hard earned money, at least until it’s time to sell it and move on to another phase of life.

But for now I have pretty much lost interest in them. I don’t really have much else to say left either, maybe a bit on politics, which is the only issue of relevance to me at this point, if I get the time. And this blog gets very few hits from readers these days – about 7 out of 10 hits is just people finding the posts through search engines.

So just thought I should let y’all know that I probably won’t be posting much in the future, anyway, rather than just drifting off.

Written by gregor

May 11, 2011 at 23:12

Posted in Uncategorized

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Good Morning,
    I have read your blog every morning and I am sorry to see you leave, but I understand how you feel. You are an interesting writer. I have been interested in tiny houses forever. A recent survey we did on the Tiny House Blog with over 1300 responses indicated that most people lean towards the larger size end of the spectrum. We also find that because of rising shipping costs the prospects for commercializing the businesses are pretty glum. Many people are just dreaming about a tiny cabin in the woods, but they will never do it. There are too many problems to solve in the real world of tiny houses.
    Good luck with your own projects. We will miss your blog.
    Walt Barrett

    Walt Barrett

    May 12, 2011 at 06:36

  2. It saddens me to hear this. I am sorry I am not more outgoing, else you would have heard from me more.

    Blogs are like bands: there are a billion of them and the top million are indistinguishable from most of the top thousand in quality, but they just didn’t catch a break.

    anomdebus

    May 12, 2011 at 06:37

  3. i have your e-mail, and you have mine…i will likely hop over to the wiki…just give me a bit, rally busy at the moment..

    rulgert

    rulgert

    May 12, 2011 at 12:26

  4. The Majority of the people that responded to our survey wanted 800 sq ft and that should not be a permitting problem in most areas.
    Walt

    Walt Barrett

    May 12, 2011 at 12:57

  5. Hey, just wanted to say that I came across your blog from tinyhouseblog a few weeks ago and you’ve extensively addressed multiple topics I’ve been tackling as I build my house. You’ve packed a ton of excellent information in here, it’s one of the most useful blogs on I’ve found on the practical side of things and I wish I’d known about it a year ago.

    This kind of blog is only going to be helpful to those actually implementing an off-grid or tiny house lifestyle though and isn’t going to appeal to the dreamers who want to look at picture spreads and fantasize about ‘one day’ (ain’t a thing wrong with that, don’t get me wrong but that’s where most people seem to be at this point).

    Sucks that you’re not going to keep up with it though, and sucks that there’s so little appreciation or demand for the nuts and bolts info actually needed to live the dream. In my honest opinion, this blog is one of a kind (or maybe I just suck at google, lol). You’ve saved me a ton of work though, so thank you!!

    ydhtt

    July 21, 2011 at 20:48

  6. I think you might want to watch Garbage Warrior. Now available on You Tube:

    …for an example of how one person took on the law makers – not tiny houses but earhships. It’s a model which inspires and which has opened a crack in the fabric of addressing the building bylaws and construction industry special interests.

    SteveR

    October 21, 2012 at 21:53


Leave a Reply

